I was a teenage (mutant ninja) poet

In my teenage years, at home in South Wales, full of angst and acne, alone in my bedroom, I created a poet alter-ego “Dai Verse” and wrote poetry (quite a lot of poetry). I later started to teach myself how to play the guitar and used the same pseudonym/persona for the bands that I joined. I still sign off most of my new poetry and music as Dai Verse.

A little over a year ago, I dug a folder out of the loft, containing my teenage works. Three decades on and I barely recognise myself as the individual that scrawled the words in biro across the A4 lined paper. As is inevitably the case, time has changed my outlook and I have to admit that most of what I read, I now consider of dubious quality. But there are a few pieces that still strike a chord with the older, wiser me. Just how much wiser I’ve become is questionable and difficult to quantify. Sadly, I doubt my wisdom has  increased in proportion to my age. A trait I share with many males of the species I’m sure.  I’m actually considering re-working some of my hormonally imbalanced teenage output. Is that a wise move?

This video is from that same era and it reminds me very much of my younger self.

 

About Dave Sollis

Poet/muso/sketch-doodler/marathon-runner, founder of The Amorphous Poetry Project and Tap Publishing UK http://tappublishing.uk/blog/
This entry was posted in About and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I was a teenage (mutant ninja) poet

  1. Pingback: Rik Mayall RIP | T A P P: Rhyme – With Good Reason

  2. You are so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve read through anything
    like this before. So great to discover someone with
    unique thoughts on this issue. Really.. many thanks for
    starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the
    web, someone with some originality!

    • Dai Verse says:

      Well despite seeming like the contrived words of a scheming spam-bot, I like the gushing sentiment, so have decided to approve the comment. Congratulations…

Leave a Reply

