My 1st Bike – a poem for World Poetry Day

medium_458258255I remember vividly getting my very first (& only) ‘new‘ bike as a child. It was a crisp Christmas morning in the mid 1970’s. I hadn’t asked for a bike, mainly as I wasn’t able to ride one, so the thought never entered my head. Plus everything else of that ilk that I’d been given were all hand-me-downs from my older cousins and/or  brother. So when I entered the living room that morning, I never gave the bike a second glance, as I assumed it wasn’t for me. I was absolutely gobsmacked when my dad said it was mine.

It was a Raleigh Tempo (or at least that’s what I think it was called)Beautiful, sleek curving frame finished in metallic British Racing Green with white-wall tyres, and it was stunning – a real 1950’s throwback. Similar to the bike in the photo above. Similar in looks – but with one crucial design flaw (which I wouldn’t discover until I’d ridden it several times). The main crossbar split into two from the handlebar socket, with each separate piece going either side of the seat rod (with terminology like this – I expect you’ve guessed that I’m no bicycle guru).

So when my backside flew off the seat and I experienced the groin carnage expressed in my poem (which I’m sure the men reading will be all too familiar with); my testicles slotted between the two curved crossbars, I slid forward, the gap narrowed and my poor little plumbs were very nearly removed in an excruciating pincer action. That was the precise moment I discovered just how evil the design flaw of the Raleigh Tempo frame was (probably the work of a sadistic feminist extremist). To make matters worse, when I attempted to get up off the ground, the bike was still attached, like some kind of cumbersome and freakish scrotum adornment. A forerunner for the male equivalent of the vagazzle perhaps…

It was a long time before I was able to test whether or not I’d been sterilised. Fortunately, the wedding tackle worked well enough when it was required in later life.

So as it’s world poetry day, I thought I’d do my bit to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression – by sharing a poem about my childhood cycling mishap with the world. A good and fitting tribute I believe. I hope you agree.

My 1st Bike

The best damn bike – I’d ever seen
Metallic paint – British Racing Green
 
NadgerBikeSignRetro Styled – built for fun, not speed
A fine design – very fine indeed
 
Out for a spin – to the shops and back
In a short time – I’d got the knack
 
Down the hill – wasn’t even trying
But man alive – I was really flying
 
What’s that – a bloody cat!
Waved my arms – shouted “SCAT!”
 
The dumb thing froze – like a dust mop
Yanked on the anchors – rapid stop
 
Slammed down hard – on the cross-bar
White hot pain – testicular trauma
 
Truth be told – I’m no wimp
But to this day – I walk with a limp
 
 

photo credit: sandcastlematt via photopin cc

About Dave Sollis

Poet/muso/sketch-doodler/marathon-runner, founder of The Amorphous Poetry Project and Tap Publishing UK http://tappublishing.uk/blog/
This entry was posted in About, Comic Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My 1st Bike – a poem for World Poetry Day

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very funny brought tears to my eyes in more ways than one.

  2. Dai Verse says:

    Much more of an AAAARRRRGGGHHH!!! from my perspective & at a very high pitch that probably only dogs could hear.

    Thanks for the sympathy Claudette 😉

  3. Made me smile. Good stuff.

  4. Dai Verse says:

    Thanks Jack. Glad you liked it, I can smile about it now too.

Leave a Reply

