Budge it – Mr Budget

Here in the UK, we recently had a budget announcement by the Chancellor of the Exchequer (George Osborne). A few days later, I was sat watching the TV news, which was giving a detailed commentary on the Chancellors proposals, with the expected affects on the ‘average family‘ etc. I was tired and just as my eyes began to glaze over, my son entered the room, said “The budget is boring” and then made a swift exit. It struck me that was a very astute observation and one I would have made myself at his age. I don’t think I would have actually said it out loud – but I would definitely have thought it.

Perhaps delivering the budget on roller-skates would liven things up. Especially if the Chancellor was a complete skating novice.

Anyhow, I digress, those four words uttered by my son, have since rattled around in my brain and fallen out as a little poem:

BoringBudgetThe Budget – March 2013
The budget is boring, George Osborne is a prat *
Raising extra monies by taxing this and that
The deficit is crippling, but he hasn’t got a clue
To me, the next election seems long overdue!
 
 
 
 
* the spell-checker wanted to amend prat to part. I almost went with that suggestion, but couldn’t decide which part people would assume he was…
 

So there you have it – I’m not a political animal, so this is a bit of a departure for me – hope you like it.

About Dave Sollis

Poet/muso/sketch-doodler/marathon-runner, founder of The Amorphous Poetry Project and Tap Publishing UK http://tappublishing.uk/blog/
This entry was posted in Comic Verse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

